Layers of the Scrotum (Funny Mnemonic)

Layers of the Scrotum (Anatomy)

The Scrotum (a.k.a ball sack) is an anatomical structure containing the male reproductive organs called testis. It is a dual chambered sack consisting of smooth muscles and is located underneath the male penis. The scrotum is responsible for maintaining the temperature of the testes at 35 degrees Celsius (two degrees below the body temperature), which is essential for promoting spermatogenesis. In this article, we are going to share with you a mnemonic for layers of the scrotum so that it will be easier for you to remember them in the exams.

Layers of the Scrotum

Below are the layers of scrotum starting from the outermost layer, the skin, to the innermost layer, the Tunica Vaginalis.

  1. Skin
  2. Dartos fascia and muscle
  3. External spermatic fascia
  4. Cremasteric fascia
  5. Internal spermatic fascia
  6. Tunica vaginalis
  7. Tunica albuginea


Mnemonic for Layers of the Scrotum

Here is a mnemonic to help you quickly recall layers of the scrotum. It is funny and easy-to-remember. 🙂

Some Damn Englishman Called It The Testes

S: Skin
D: Dartos fascia and muscle
E: External spermatic fascia
C: Cremasteric fascia
I: Internal spermatic fascia
T: Tunica vaginalis
T: Tunica albuginea

We hope this mnemonic for layers of the scrotum will make it remembering these layers easy.

Happy learning! 🙂

Want to add something? Please use the comment box below to let us know what you think. 🙂


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here